Rage Against The Machine

Thursday, June 2, 2011


Tom Morello is set to release the solo album, World Wide Rebel Songs, on August 30th via New West Records. The 12-track set is the anticipated follow up to the 2008 The Nightwatchman album The Fabled City and was produced by Morello. The first single, “Save The Hammer For The Man” was co-written with Ben Harper and features Harper on vocals and guitar. While Morello’s solo albums as The Nightwatchman have primarily been acoustic affairs, World Wide Rebel Songs, features a full electric band, “The Freedom Fighter Orchestra” (comprised of Dave Gibbs on bass, Carl Restivo on guitar and piano, Chris Joyner on keyboard, and Eric Gardner on drums). World Wide Rebel Songs is the 14th studio album of Tom Morello’s influential career.

When describing World Wide Rebel Songs, Morello stated, "Troubled times call out for troubled songs. World Wide Rebel Songs is an album of rousing hopelessness and this time The Nightwatchman has brought along his electric guitar to tip the scales. I wanted to capture a vibe midway between Johnny Cash and Che Guevera, murder ballads and Molotov anthems."

World Wide Rebel Songs will be released on the heels of Morello’s new benefit EP, Union Town. Union Town will be released on July 19th on CD and Vinyl and is available digitally now. All profits from Union Town will benefit The America Votes Labor Unity Fund via SaveWorkers.org. The studio recording consists of 8 pro-union songs featuring three Morello originals, as well as the Woody Guthrie classic, “This Land Is Your Land” (including the more radical, often censored verses). On February 21st of this year, Morello performed at the Capitol Square in Madison, WI in protest to an anti-union bill put forward by Governor Scott Walker. A recording of the track “Union Song” was captured at this performance and is included on Union Town.

World Wide Rebel Songs Track Listing

1. Black Spartacus Heart Attack Machine
2. The Dogs of Tijuana
3. It Begins Tonight
4. Save The Hammer For The Man featuring Ben Harper
5. The Fifth Horseman Of The Apocalypse
6. Speak and Make Lightning
7. Facing Mount Kenya
8. The Whirlwind
9. Stray Bullets
10. Branding Iron
11. World Wide Rebel Songs
12. God Help Us All


Unknown said...

your site is very informative thank you
bus ticketing machine
https://twitter.com/#!/ElitePalm Elite Palm™

Unknown said...

Keep the ball rolling you have done the great job here.plumbing contractor

Aubrey Dickey said...

They were professional and dedicated throughout the UX design agencies San Francisco project, offering honest feedback and reliable services.